Home
Posted By: high_country_ No excuses bullets - 11/04/18
I'm new to muzzy hunting, but have built a ton of long range rifles. I bought a cva wolf and was able to get good groups with hornady great plains conicals. I'll be hunting idaho so it is lead, loose and musket cap only. I just had some 495 and 600 gr no excuses show up and am curious if anyone has found any reason not to go with what I would for smokeless rifles....slow it up to under leading velocities and use a wad.

Any ideas on a powder charge of t7 for the 600? I'm thinking 75-80ish.

Any advice appreciated.
Posted By: DigitalDan Re: No excuses bullets - 11/10/18
I have heard that muzzies will shoot back if you give'm a chance. Aim small.
Posted By: AH64guy Re: No excuses bullets - 11/10/18
Originally Posted by DigitalDan
I have heard that muzzies will shoot back if you give'm a chance. Aim small.

And the buggers are fairly determined about getting you back for it...

OP - that's a good starting load - most Idaho hunters I know push about the same grains unless the grouping falls apart.

A couple like their doctors enough to push a higher load, but I don't see much increase other than the cussing they do afterwards.
Posted By: Pappy348 Re: No excuses bullets - 11/11/18
How do you use musket caps in a Wolf? Thought that was a 209 ignition setup.
Posted By: Overkill45 Re: No excuses bullets - 11/11/18
They offer it in a NW edition
Posted By: Pappy348 Re: No excuses bullets - 11/11/18
Didn't see that on the CVA site. Looks like a good, inexpensive solution for those states. Wouldn't make the cut for our new Mountaineer Heritage season, but my Renegade will.
Posted By: high_country_ Re: No excuses bullets - 11/12/18
I answered my own question. I spanked a dandy group @ 125 with 80grs and a felt wad.
Posted By: Crockettnj Re: No excuses bullets - 11/15/18