Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by Southern_WI_Savage
WWGD?

(What would Gary do?)
Gently pry on it with a tool that allows you to do so being careful not to make it worse.
If nothing moves, leave it alone.
If it seems to move (glue is not totally adhering) you may consider a reglue.

As gently as you can, with an xacto knife, begin to pick at the glue to remove. Patience and a lot of picks. Slow process.
Go as far and as deep as you are comfortable with.
If you are good, and lucky all of the glue will be gone.
Then possibly you will be able to close that nasty gap. More of an aesthetic thing, but if available what the heck.

Then explore your options. Glue, epoxy, etc. I'm not an expert. (I have used wood glue successfully)

I guess strength is the goal. And if you can clean up the aesthetics is a plus.

Good luck and do report back.

"Every day above ground is a good day."
GB1

P
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
P
I’d leave it alone, looks stable to me

"When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro."
Hunter S. Thompson
F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
Good pictures. If it were mine, I would glass bed the recoil lug where it meets the stock and forget about it.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by Poconojack

Yep.

"You cannot invade mainland America. There would be a rifle behind every blade of grass"
~Admiral Yamamoto~

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty. ~Thomas Jefferson~
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by 99guy
Just shoot it

Yep
Presumptuous.

IC B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by 99guy

Yep.
Presumptuous again.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
In my own personal experience, if you start messing with things that aren't broke, they usually end up broke.

And then you ask yourself why you just didn't leave well enough alone?