Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
C
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
C
We had an old fice dog on the farm. Got 1 leg cut off in a sickle mower IIRC.
We called him Tripod ....maybe 30 LBs. His mate was a very big Shepard kinda dog . Called him Laddie . Those 2 had more sense than many dogs, and I have seen a lot.

They were hell on coons. They did not make a peep until the coon was on the way up.

There were occasions when it was very late and raining and we could not see the coon in the tree. We would tie the little one to the tree ....put a coat or 2 on the tree . Come back in the morn.

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I've seen two and know of another although I've not seen it.

The first was a Chinese Chow named "Leo." He was the mascot of the Kappa Sigma fraternity at the University of Arkansas, when I was a student there. Leo lost one of his legs when he was riding with some Kappa Sigs one afternoon riding in a convertible Chevrolet. The top was down. They were driving about 40 MPH when Leo decided to jump out. He crashed into the pavement, shattered one of his legs which had to be amputated by a vet. After he healed, he got along just fine on three legs.

The second was up in Garden Valley, Idaho. It was just some kind of mutt that belonged to a young man and his wife who had a house in the mountains. I was hunting elk in that area and I saw the three legged dog hobbling around without a problem, so I asked his owner, whom I knew, what happened?

He told me he and his wife were asleep one night when he woke up to a bunch of commotion and barking outside. He looked out the window and saw that a Black bear was chewing on his dog's hip and leg. The young man grabbed his .44 Magnum, ran outside and killed the bear.